The class will be held at the Monticello Fire Department located at 23 Richardson Avenue in Monticello, NY.
Deputies from the Sheriff’s Marine Patrol Unit will provide the mandatory 8 hours of instruction from 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Participants must be at least 10 years old to attend and must pass a written test at the end of the day.
A new law, effective May 1, 2014 states that all individuals born on or after 5/1/96 are now required to successfully complete an approved course in boater education in order to operate a motorboat in New York State.
"Unlike some of the other boater safety courses given around the state, there is no charge for this class," says Sullivan County Sheriff Mike Schiff. "We are able to do this because the Monticello Fire Dept. is providing the space free of charge to the community."
New York State does charge a $10 fee when they issue the Boater Safety Certificate. And that fee is waived for people under 18 years old. The certificate does not expire.
Seating in the class is limited and will be available on a first come first served basis.
To register for the class, call the Sheriff’s Patrol at 845-794-7100 option#1 and speak with the deputy on the desk.